The Storm after the Storm: Dealing with the Aftermath of Domestic Violence (1)

In the spirit of Femmes Faithful’s focus on October as Domestic Violence Awareness Month, I have a confession to make: I am a child of domestic violence. There, I said it–or should I say, wrote it? You see, though I have been open about this very personal area of my life to some people within my circle, I have been hesitant to share this more openly. In fact, even though I have talked about it, I have never actually admitted it in writing–ever! This is because, to me, the words that I write are permanent and they are always a direct reflection of my heart and my spirit. I’ve been afraid to be so vulnerable about this with people I don’t know for the same reason that any victim of domestic violence often is: fear of judgment; fear of being looked upon with pity; fear that a closely guarded family “secret” is being revealed (a secret which really isn’t a secret, and hasn’t been for a long time); and worst and most irrational of all, the silent killer that is shame.

You see, my father was emotionally and physically abusive towards my mother, as well as my siblings and I. It was something we never ever shared with anyone, until my father began to expose himself without any help from us. Life was often chaotic to say the least, but you would never know by looking at my mother, my siblings, or me. My personal escape at the time was to retreat: I became what you would call a “loner.” The nooks, crevices and corners were my favorite places, and silence and my imagination were my best friends. It was there that I could dream, that I could hope, and I could be free. Little did I know, that it was in those moments that I would find God, and He would find me. I often think to myself that God Himself literally raised me and protected me, and He did the same with my siblings (along with my amazing, resilient, irreplacable mother). Somehow, we managed to avoid the pitfalls that even our more well-adjusted peers didn’t–or so I thought.

You see, the scars of domestic violence are more than just physical and deeper than the emotional scars that most people expect. Things happen;, outlooks change; perspectives become different; and for many children, innocence is lost. As a woman, I saw my father’s example, and began to make unholy vows. You know those vows that women make that they think make them strong, independent, and invincible, they are unholy vows. They are unholy because they are founded on deep fear and negative expectations, instead of God’s healing and love – at least mine were. I began to vow that no man would ever treat me a certain way, or anticipate certain things so that I would be “prepared” when they happened. I began to build a wall to protect my heart. I was justified in doing that, but I had no right to.

As a young woman in a relationship with a young man (the first and only relationship I had with the man who is now my husband), I didn’t realize how broken I was. I had prayed before doing this, and I had heard God release me to go into it. I was whole, I was perfect, I was ready–I was not! As the days, the weeks and the months progressed, I saw that the past I thought I had left behind had caused me to plant seeds in my heart that had started to become barriers to the growth of my relationship.

I thought the storm was over when I left home, but now, I was dealing with the storm after the storm, the aftermath of the domestic violence I had endured.

I have had to turn back to God again and again for healing – day after day after precious day. Though we are now very happily married and I have overcome some of my hangups, it is not perfect: there is so much more healing God is doing through my husband and one-on-one with me. The storm might not be over, but I serve a God whose word alone can calm any storm. [Mark 4:35-41]. I have learned to embrace my journey because I know that I could never be who I am without the experiences I have had.

If you’re like me and you have made unholy vows with yourself (vows against openness and vulnerability), it is time for release. Allow God to step in an calm your storm. Let Him begin the journey to putting your broken pieces back together again. Allow Him to say to you, “Peace, be still!” Then, take that step, and then, the next step, and continue walking until He carries you to your freedom. Understand that you are never, ever alone!

For domestic violence resources and further help, click here.

{Image Credit: Real Storm 87}

6 thoughts on “The Storm after the Storm: Dealing with the Aftermath of Domestic Violence (1)

  1. monisedurr says:

    Thank you so much. This has touched my heart and soul and I Thank God for touch your heart and your fingers,so your story may release others into healing to share or to forgive.

    • chiomao says:

      Thank you, Monise! I’m really glad this resonated with you. I really pray that God releases others to share. It’s a wonderful first step to freedom. 🙂

  2. Yanique says:

    Thank you for sharing Chiomao (beautiful name). In reading I felt the confirmation and safety I needed to say what I am about to say.

    “I am not afraid, I am bold. For God has not given me a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”

    I speak this to myself and I allow myself to ‘believe’ this with every fiber of my being, I will continue to say it until I ‘know’ it, not just sometimes but always. At the moment I believe it and on most days I’m not afraid. However, I need this permanent reminder to buffer me on those days when fear threatens to separate me from my destiny in Christ and my freedom to be the woman I was created to be…. not enslaved to domestic violence of any kind. I say it to myself on the days when I feel alone on my journey.

    I am a victim of domestic violence (deep breath). I am a victim. This is hard for me, a milestone even. I have no idea how to be a victim, yet I fit all the criteria….so I am. I have realized that in order to be a survivor I must first admit victimization, I can’t skip steps as I have been doing for the last decade. There are too many lessons to learn in the healing process. I can’t truly proclaim myself healed without the process, the acknowledgment, the support and the willingness to let God do His work. To accept what he provides and to allow myself to be……..vulnerable.

    I was in an abusive marriage for five years. My ex-husband was physically, verbally and emotionally abusive. He was unfaithful, lied, recoded my phone conversations for blackmail purposes, had men follow me around, hired men to seduce me and even tried to convince me to leave my home at night so I could be prey to the man he hired. Although I have been divorced for almost six years I have not been truly free. I have somehow been emotionally trapped by fear, by the aftershock of abuse and by the flashbacks that visit unannounced whenever I feel threatened in a manner similar to my past. They leave me frightened and emotionally confused….almost as a reminder, saying ‘you are broken’.

    The first time he was physically abusive I shared it with my biological mother. Her response was “Well what did you say to him? You really need to hold your tongue sometimes.” I knew that was the wrong answer so I figured I’d ask his mother to maybe speak to him so he would stop. Her response was quite similar to my mom’s….”You just don’t know when to shut up, you always have an opinion and you talk back too much. Try being more respectful and do not provoke him”. So I tried keeping my opinions more to myself. It was our first year together and although I had been unsure of the verbal and emotional abuse he had been dishing out so far, I knew punching was definitely abuse. I grew up with a lot of verbal and emotional abuse so I had great defenses for those. The physical abuse was something else. By the end of year one I had maybe one friend left. He had by then discouraged all friendships. One by one he discredited the motives of my friendships. I didn’t want to fight so I let them go. I kept it secret after that. I developed strategies to avoid his aggravation and prayed he’d change, or get help. Eventually I left, five years later.

    Since the divorce, I’ve lived these years on the edge of fear. Fear that if I allow the law to play out I will lose. That if I go back to court for child support and official custody arrangements I will lose. That his words were true when he threatened to take my child. Fear that the law will not be able to see past his lies and deception and that they will hand my child over to an abuser because she shares half his dna. Over time I have expelled his abusive words that once kept me awake at night. Words like; “you will always be mine”, “You are worthless”, “this is all your fault”, “you made me do it”, “It is all in your head”, “You are crazy”, “Im the only one who will ever want you.” and “nobody loves you”. These lies no longer have a foothold in my thoughts.

    This summer I had the courage to file the motions with the court. Last Thursday his lawyer requested a postponement of my motions to the judge and it was granted. He did this twice during the divorce as a strategy to use the time to scare and torment me into dropping the motions. I did not then and I will not now. I will wait two more weeks, or maybe four, or maybe a year as I did for the divorce. I have waited almost six years, I can wait a bit more. I will not back down.

    I have always been a very ‘in control’ kind of person. I’m optimistic especially as a supporter but accepting support is a bit awkward. I don’t have a lot of experience in receiving support. I don’t have sisters and family is a word I don’t truly understand. I learned very early in my life to trust only me and be strong. My desire is to change this but I’m not sure I know how. I don’t see myself as a victim because I cannot afford to be weak. Logically I know that my acceptance does not make me weak, my heart just needs to catch up with my head. I sometimes feel as if accepting all the implications of victimization will somehow break the last thread of strength that keeps me optimistic. I often feel very alone. Whenever I say this to friends they say “you are not alone”. Why then do I feel so alone? I want to heal, I don’t want to feel ridiculous or weak anymore. I want to trust and love. I want to accept support and know it is freely given. I want to know that I am adequate always, without working at it. I am optimistic about my future. I am sharing because my soul says share. I feel half naked posting this, but I am chancing it. I have something great that I am meant to do but nothing can be achieved when I am so broken on the inside. I’m not sure what I need, but please don’t hesitate to reach out if you are so lead.

    Thank God for this courage to share and thank you for taking time to read.

    • chiomao says:

      Hi Yanique!!! God bless you for reaching out and for your absolutely amazing testimony on surviving domestic violence. I praise God for your life and the amazing things He is doing with you.

      There are certainly many steps to healing, as you have said, and I am so thankful that you are beginning to take them. If at all accessible, it might be great to reach out and contact a Godly professional counsellor who can help you work through your steps.

      Please reach out to us, if you can. We are having an expert on awareness of Domestic Violence as a guest speaker on our weekly Wednesday morning Femmes Faithful phone conferences. Please join us at 6 AM (EST) at 605-477-3000. The pin is 403993#.

      I really look forward to having you join us, Yanique. God bless you and take you on your journey to freedom.

      Much Love,
      Chioma

  3. Yanique says:

    Thank you Chioma. I have been blessed by the guest speaker the last two weeks. I will announce myself on Wednesday.
    Blessings,
    Yanique

Leave a comment